Words from HoD


Prof. Rakesh Kumar
Head of  Department  Aerospace Engineering

The department of Aerospace Engineering was set up in 1962 and it is one of the oldest departments of India offering courses in Aerospace Engineering. The graduates of this department have carved a niche in the field of aerospace technology at national and international level. The department feels proud of the illustrious alumni like late (Dr.) Kalpana Chawla (astronaut of NASA ‘s Space Shuttle mission), Padma Shree Dr. Satish Kumar, Sh. Yogesh Kumar, Inderjit Chopra, Deepak Bansal and many many more. The department is well equipped with laboratories and a workshop which supplements the theoretical aspects and enables the students to gain practical knowledge. The department has launched M.Tech. degree program in aerospace engineering commencing from the session 2022-23. The curriculum and thesis project of the newly launched program is designed to meet the contemporary industrial requirements of the nation. The department has also developed excellent research facilities leading to a PhD degree in the area of supersonic aerodynamics and Pulse Detonation Engine technology. The dedicated faculty of this department has rich experience of teaching and industry who are competent to sharpen the skills of the students.